Through the Adirondacks

Dear Ones,

It’s nearly 7:30 pm on Fri Oct 21, and I’ve landed in Rochester for the next five days.

I drove through sunlit trees in full decay from Stowe, VT to Crown Point, NY where I crossed the border via a severely-arched bridge over the tip of Lake Champlain–remembered being here in June, riding for three days with my Gus’s pals from Burlington to North Hero Island via the causeways–my path today took me along the lake and into the southern region of the Adirondacks, a forest I’ve not spent much time in.

Thoughts: Johnny Appleseed and Rip Van Winkle asleep at the foot of one of these trees…
vt-to-adirondacks

Thoughts: My mother once drove my little sister Dianna and me to the edge of Lake Champlain to cross into New York. I was fourteen, I think, homesick after five weeks at summer camp in Vermont, and pining for my sweetheart. I remember standing at the tip of that ferry staring into the gun metal water and singing under my breath into the wind. Today, I remember my mother who also got in a car once and traveled up and down the East Coast all the way to Canada and back to hunt for her ancestors, to camp and to write. The irony is not lost here; I, too, am taking to the road. She is with me.

Thoughts: I must tell you I listened to my new friend Amber Hunt’s podcast—launched at the end of September and currently number #1 on iTunes –on the unsolved murder of Elizabeth Andes in 1978. Amber is a crime writer I met at VSC and this story is riveting. I listened, Amber, for all seven hours today…I have only episode 8 to hear, and I am hooked. Take a listen, people. This is wildly good stuff, well researched, fascinating.

http://www.cincinnati.com/story/news/2016/08/27/introducing-accused-podcast-unsolved-murder-elizabeth-andes/89396140/

Leaving you with this, before I pour another glass of wine and watch a movie!

At the end of my I-90 off ramp, less than a mile from my hotel, I pulled to a stop and a truck moved into the lane to my right. Yeah, this is what it said. dawnReally. I have NEVER seen this company before. But there you have it; I enter Rochester for the first leg of my epic journey, and I am sure I am on the right road.

Love to you all.

 

 

About dhaines54

Dawn Denham (formerly Haines) lives in the hill country of North Central Mississippi where she's writing a book about her mentor at the Eastman School of Music mezzo-soprano Jan DeGaetani and teaching writing at Oxford High School. Her work has been published in Poets and Writers magazine, Brevity, Zone 3, Literary Mama, and WILLA. Her book with authors Jacqueline Raphael and Susan Newcomer Writing Together: Transforming Your Writing in a Writing Group was the first book of its kind published in the US. Her essay Aleatorik about her mother’s death won the 2012 Solstice magazine Creative Nonfiction prize chosen by Jerald Walker and was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She received an MFA in Nonfiction from Vermont College of Fine Arts, an MA in Rhetoric and Composition from the University of Arizona, and a BM in Voice from Eastman School of Music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

